You may remember that Coca-Cola had the red caps on the bottle. But there was a time when the brand had yellow caps to differentiate its version of sucrose from the actual ingredients. They were actually considered to be kosher variants for the Passover period for the Jews.

How did the Easter period influence the production of yellow caps on Coca-Cola bottles?

This was in the year 1930 when Coca-Cola used a different sugar substitute for its signature drink. These Jews had cut any grain-based product, including chametz, in the Passover period. Since regular Coke bottles contain high amounts of sucrose, the kosher variants were released to honor the length of Easter and were made in yellow with an Easter certification, clearly distinguishing them from regular bottles.

How is the Easter certification?

The Ⓤ mark, also known as the Hechsher symbol, can be seen on the bottles to indicate that they are kosher. There also needs to be additional Easter hechsher symbols depending on the different organizations in food and drink denoting kosher. There are lowercase letters that determine whether the food can be classified as meat or dairy.

The reason Coke bottles with a yellow cap are better than those with a red cap - The GateThe Gate

This is applicable for all brands and can also be commonly found on Oreo packaging.

Have you ever noticed these intricate details on your Coca-Cola bottle? You will be surprised to find so many more brands filled with these segregations.

Fountain: Business Insider

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *